fbpx

机会区的规则和条例

什么是机遇区?

机会区是一个低收入的普查区,个人贫困率至少为20%,家庭收入中位数不超过该地区中位数的80%。

机会区是一种经济发展工具,允许人们在美国的贫困地区投资。其目的是刺激低收入社区的经济增长和创造就业机会,同时为投资者提供税收优惠。

机会区是根据《2017年减税和就业法案》(公法第115-97号)设立的。所有50个州、哥伦比亚特区和五个美国领土上的数千个低收入社区被指定为合格的机会区。

纳税人可以通过合格的机会基金投资于这些区域。

资料来源。 政策地图

你如何有资格在机会区投资?

对于大多数OZ基金,你必须是一个合格的投资者?你必须有$1万的净资产,不包括你的主要住宅,或者如果你是单身报税人,连续两年至少有$20万的年收入(已婚报税人为$30万)。

创建机会区基金的要求是什么?

国税局将机会区基金描述为一种投资工具,它提交了合伙企业或公司的联邦所得税申报表,并为投资于合格的机会区财产而组织。你可以从国税局获得并提交8896表,并创建一个合格的机会区基金。

它的结构可以是合伙企业或公司,只要其目的是通过房地产或通过股权投资于机会区的某个普查区。但请记住,该基金必须在机会区地区持有大部分--90%--的资产。

任何人都可以成立QOF,这就为支持投资者寻求庇护进入项目的资本收益的基金打开了大门。对于初创公司和企业来说,资本收益的数额实际上可能相当小,但必须有某种资本收益作为基础。

大部分合格的机会基金将是有限责任公司。现在,它可以是有限责任公司,也可以是公司或合伙企业,但大多数将是作为合伙企业纳税的有限责任公司。因此,真正重要的考虑因素之一是,当你设立合格机会基金时,你必须有两个成员。而且这些成员必须是不同的成员,有独立的雇员身份号码或纳税人身份号码。

一般来说,一个OZ基金必须将其资产的至少90%投资于位于合格机会区的企业。

如何投资于机会区基金?

参与机会区和它们提供的优惠税收待遇是通过将合格的资本收益放在机会基金中来实现的。机会基金是集合投资基金,遵循特定的要求以获得这一称号,有几种机会基金可供选择。

合格的资本收益可以通过出售股票、债券、私人企业或房地产实现。经认可的投资者可以参与机会区提供的优惠税收待遇,方法是在出售资产后180天内将其当前的资本收益转入合格的对外投资基金,此外还需提交IRS表格8949。非合格的资本收益资金也可以投资于机会区,但这些钱将没有资格获得同样的税收优惠。

合格的机会区基金是指结构为公司或合伙的私人基金,将其超过90%的资本投资于机会区。最近的一项裁决指出,基金未能满足90%的资产测试,不会使他们失去被归类为机会基金的资格,但可能会导致罚款。

政府没有使用纳税人的钱来刺激这些社区的经济增长,而是决定使用私人投资。为了鼓励私人参与,在合格机会区投资的个人有资格获得税收优惠。

为了利用这一计划,纳税人必须将其出售资产的收益(已实现的收益或资本收益)投资于合格机会区基金。这必须在出售后的180天内进行。然而,虽然纳税人可以投资出售资产的收益以及潜在收益,但税收优惠只适用于资本收益。

另外,值得注意的是,投资者可以使用任何升值资产的收益。这并不要求用同类资产投资来推迟潜在收益。

机会区的税收优势是什么?

该计划为在机会区投资未实现的资本收益提供三项税收优惠。

  1. 暂时延缓对以前赚取的资本收益征税。投资者可以将有累积资本收益的现有资产放入机会基金。这些现有的资本收益直到2026年底或资产被处置时才会被征税。
  2. 投资以前赚取的资本收益的基础递增。如果资本收益放在机遇基金中至少5年,投资者的原始投资基础增加10%。如果投资至少7年,投资者的原始投资基础将增加15%。
  3. 对新的收益永久免征应税收入。对于持有至少10年的投资,投资者通过投资机会基金产生的任何资本收益都无需纳税。

在机会区投资有什么风险?

与任何投资一样,投资于机遇区也有风险。最大的风险是在该地区投资的可行性。仅仅因为在某些地区有税收优惠政策,并不意味着每项投资都能获利。投资的地点和类型很重要。寻找一个在不同机会区拥有多样化资产的基金。

此外,投资者要充分利用机会区提供的税收优惠,他们需要将部分资本收益转入机会基金。这可能会减少投资者在此期间的投资组合的多样化,从而增加风险。

现在就说这些OZ基金将带来什么样的收益(如果有的话),或者哪些OZ基金值得投资,还为时过早。事实上,关于OZ基金可以投资什么以及它应该如何运作的规则仍在不断发展。这可能会造成一个问题:一个OZ基金必须遵守美国国税局的无数准则。如果不遵守,它可能不得不支付罚款,或者更糟的是,基金的投资者将没有资格享受资本收益税的减免。要明白不良房地产交易本身是有风险的。你购买的是一个人们本来不愿意投资的领域。

OZ基金没有什么业绩记录,经理人没有经验,费用高,进入门槛高,不适合退休储蓄或你不能忍受损失的钱,也不适合在规定的持有期锁定。它们更适合财力雄厚、精明的投资者,而不是小市民的储蓄者。如果你从来没有投资过私募股权或你是少数投资者的密切控股投资,这些可能不适合你。

你可以在机会区基金中投资什么类型的资产?

该基金可以投资于任何合格的资产,可以是不动产、设备,或者是50%或更多收入来自机会区的企业。根据目前的准则,许多种类的企业都符合条件,但有一些企业,包括高尔夫球场、按摩院、赌场和酒类商店,被排除在外。

有哪些法规来保护投资者?

  1. 让更多类型的收益有资格获得减税。在可能是最终条例中最有利于投资者的变化中,企业的投资者可以对更多类型的收益推迟纳税,特别是出售某些企业资产如房地产或重型设备的收益。根据税法的正常规则,企业将其出售这些资产的收益和损失结合起来。他们在某一年的销售净收益导致资本收益,企业为此支付资本收益税,而净损失让企业从其普通收入中扣税。这意味着,企业通常必须等到年底才能确定他们的总体收益或损失,拟议的法规将遵循这种方法。但是,根据最终的规定,企业可以自行计算每笔销售,使他们获得两方面的好处:他们可以为每笔收益获得机会区的减税,他们可以为每笔损失获得全额扣除。
  2. 让企业持有现金的时间更长,让社区等待。为了防止投资者仅仅通过将现金存放在银行而不是将资金投入到这些社区而从机会区的税收减免中获益,法律限制了符合条件的企业可以持有的现金数量。但是,拟议的法规包括一个慷慨的例外,让企业有资格获得税收减免,即使他们以现金持有所有资产长达31个月。现在,最终的法规大大扩展了这一例外情况:让一些企业有资格获得减税,而不需要在机会区进行超过五年的有形投资。

你要在机会区交易中投资多长时间?

180天的投资期

一般来说,你有180天的时间将符合条件的收益投资于一个QOF。如果您没有选择推迟确认收益,180天的第一天就是该收益在联邦所得税方面的确认日期。

 

 

分享。

更多帖子

制定有效继任计划的提示

积极的工作流程和安全的资产负债表是每一个蓬勃发展的组织的一部分和组成部分。一个经常性的员工加入和离开的模式,包括

林肯金融

概述 林肯金融集团是林肯国家公司及其附属公司的营销名称,它是一家财富250强的美国控股公司,经营着

fbpx

Opportunity Zone Rules and Regulations

What is an Opportunity Zone?

An Opportunity Zone is a low-income census tract with an individual poverty rate of at least 20 percent and median family income no greater than 80 percent of the area median.

Opportunity Zones are an economic development tool that allows people to invest in distressed areas in the United States. Their purpose is to spur economic growth and job creation in low-income communities while providing tax benefits to investors.

Opportunity Zones were created under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 (Public Law No. 115-97). Thousands of low-income communities in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories are designated as Qualified Opportunity Zones.

Taxpayers can invest in these zones through Qualified Opportunity Funds.

Source: PolicyMap

How do you qualify to invest in an opportunity zone?

With most OZ funds, you must be an accredited investor— you must have a net worth of $1 million, excluding your primary residence, or have two consecutive years of at least $200,000 in annual income if you’re a single tax filer ($300,000 for married filers).

What are the requirements to create an opportunity zone fund?

The IRS describes an Opportunity Zones fund as an investment vehicle that files either a partnership or corporation federal income tax return and is organized for the purpose of investing in qualified Opportunity Zones property. You can get and file Form 8896, from the IRS and create a qualified opportunity fund.

It can be structured as a partnership or corporation as long as the purpose is to invest in one of the Opportunity Zones’ census tracts, through real estate or in businesses through equity. But remember, the fund must hold the bulk — 90% — of its assets in an Opportunity Zones area.

Anyone can form a QOF and that opened the doors to funds supporting investors looking to shelter capital gains that go into projects. For startup companies and for businesses the amount of capital gains can actually be fairly minimal but there has to be some kind of capital gain that forms the basis of it.

The lion’s share of qualified opportunity funds are going to be LLCs. Now it can be an LLC or a corporation or a partnership, but most will be an LLC that’s taxed as a partnership. So, one of the really important considerations is that when you set up your qualified opportunity fund you must have two members in it. And those need to be distinct members with separate employee identification numbers or taxpayer ID numbers.

In general, an OZ fund must invest at least 90% of its assets in businesses located within a qualified opportunity zone.

How to invest in opportunity zone funds?

Participating in an opportunity zone and the preferential tax treatment they offer is done by placing qualified capital gains in an Opportunity Fund. Opportunity Funds are pooled investment funds that follow specific requirements to gain this designation and there are several opportunity funds to choose between.

Eligible capital gains can be realized from the sale of stocks, bonds, private business, or real estate. Accredited investors can participate in the preferential tax treatment opportunity zones offered by rolling their current capital gains into a qualified OF within 180 days from the sale of the asset in addition to filing IRS form 8949 with their taxes. Non-qualified capital gains funds can also be invested in an OF, but that money will not be eligible for the same tax incentives.

A qualified opportunity zone fund is a private fund structured as a corporation or partnership that invests more than 90% of its capital into an opportunity zone. A recent ruling stated that a fund’s failure to meet the 90% asset test would not disqualify them from being classified as an opportunity fund but may result in a penalty.

Rather than using taxpayer dollars to stimulate economic growth in these communities, the government decided to use private investments. To encourage private participation, individuals who invest in Qualified Opportunities Zones are eligible for tax incentives.

To capitalize on this program, a taxpayer must invest their proceeds from their sale of an asset (realized gain or capital gain) into a Qualified Opportunity Zone Fund. This must happen within 180 days of the sale. However, while a taxpayer may invest the returns of the sale of an asset, as well as the potential gains, the tax incentive only applies to the capital gains.

Also, noteworthy, investors can use the proceeds from any appreciated asset. It’s not a requirement to invest with a like-kind asset to defer potential gains.

What are the tax advantages of an opportunity zone?

The program provides three tax benefits for investing unrealized capital gains in Opportunity Zones:

  1. Temporary deferral of taxes on previously earned capital gains. Investors can place existing assets with accumulated capital gains into Opportunity Funds. Those existing capital gains are not taxed until the end of 2026 or when the asset is disposed of.
  2. Basis step-up of previously earned capital gains invested. For capital gains placed in Opportunity Funds for at least 5 years, investors’ basis on the original investment increases by 10 percent. If invested for at least 7 years, investors’ basis on the original investment increases by 15 percent.
  3. Permanent exclusion of taxable income on new gains. For investments held for at least 10 years, investors pay no taxes on any capital gains produced through their investment in Opportunity Funds.

What are the risks of investing in an opportunity zone?

As with any investment, there are risks with investing in opportunity zones. The largest is the viability of the investment in that zone. Just because there are tax incentives to place money in certain areas, it doesn’t mean every investment will be profitable. The location and type of investment matters. Look for a fund that has diversified assets across different opportunity zones.

Additionally, for investors to take full advantage of the tax incentives offered with opportunity zones, they need to roll a portion of their capital gains into an opportunity fund. This can reduce the diversification of the investor’s portfolio during this period, which can increase exposure to risk.

It’s too early to say what kind of gains, if any, these OZ funds will deliver, or which OZ funds are worthy investments. In fact, the rules on what an OZ fund can invest in and how it should operate are still evolving. That can pose a problem: An OZ fund must comply with a myriad of IRS guidelines. If it doesn’t, it may have to pay a penalty or, worse, the fund’s investors won’t be eligible for the capital gains tax breaks. Understand that distressed real estate deals are inherently risky.You’re buying into an area that people otherwise weren’t willing to invest in.

With little track record, inexperienced managers, high fees and a high hurdle to entry, OZ funds are not right for retirement savings or money you can’t stand to lose or lock up for the required holding periods. They’re geared more for deep-pocketed, savvy investors than mom-and-pop savers. If you’ve never invested in private equity or a closely held investment in which you’re a minority investor, these probably aren’t for you.

What type of assets can you invest in an opportunity zone fund?

The fund can invest in any qualified asset, which may be real property, equipment, or a business where 50% or more of their income is derived from an opportunity zone. Many kinds of businesses qualify under the current guidelines, but a few, including golf courses, massage parlors, casinos and liquor stores, are excluded.

What are the regulations in place to protect investors?

  1. Let more types of gains qualify for tax breaks. In perhaps the final regulations’ most investor-friendly change, investors in businesses can defer taxes on more types of gains — in particular, gains from the sales of certain business assets like real estate or heavy equipment. Under the tax code’s normal rules, businesses combine their gains and losses from the sales of these assets. Net gains from their sales in a particular year result in capital gains on which businesses pay capital gains taxes, and net losses let businesses take a tax deduction from their ordinary income. That means that businesses typically must wait until the end of the year to determine their overall gain or loss, and the proposed regulations would have followed that approach. Under the final regulations, though, businesses can calculate each sale on its own, giving them the best of both worlds: they can get the opportunity zone tax breaks for each gain, and they can get a full deduction for each loss.
  2. Let businesses hold cash for longer, making communities wait. To prevent investors from benefiting from opportunity zone tax breaks simply by keeping cash in the bank rather than putting the money into those communities, the law limits the amount of cash that a qualifying business can hold. But the proposed regulations included a generous exception, letting businesses qualify for the tax breaks even if they hold all their assets in cash for up to 31 months. Now, the final regulations expand this exception dramatically — letting some businesses qualify for tax breaks without making any tangible investment in opportunity zones for more than five years.

How long do you have to invest in an opportunity zone deal?

180-Day Investment Period

Generally, you have 180 days to invest an eligible gain in a QOF. The first day of the 180-day period is the date the gain would be recognized for federal income tax purposes if you did not elect to defer the recognition of the gain.

 

 

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

More Posts

Lincoln Financial

Overview Lincoln Financial Group is the marketing name for Lincoln National Corporation and its subsidiary companies, which is a Fortune 250 American holding company operating

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top